Get Adventurous

April 26, 2013 § 7 Comments

I love my local farmers’ market. I actually don’t know how I survived before I started going every Sunday morning. It’s super cheap, I can indulge all of my food hoarding propensities, there are numerous spray-free, organic and even a biodynamic stall, everyone is super lovely, and it’s probably been the main culprit (after picky children) for getting me interested in food. Now instead of being adventurous with alcohol and dancefloor moves I get excited about trying a new fruit or vegetable each week. I always make sure I leave with something I’ve never tried, heard of or cooked with before. Amaranth leaves, chestnuts, khaki persimmons, Damson plums, cherimoya, quince apples – I love a challenge. Sometimes I win (Damson plum jam), sometimes not (candied chestnuts, or sticky rubber infill as I like to call that experiment).
Last Sunday I bought some beautiful white sapote (casimiroa edulis) from one of my favourite regulars, Bill and Marilyn at the Tikapa Moana organic fruit stall (check them out here).
White sapote are a lot like cherimoya – a sweet, creamy, vanilla custard type fruit, and utterly delicious. After eating a couple straight with a spoon I decided I’d make a cake with the remaining two.

sapote

White Sapote Freezer Cake (vegan, gluten free, nut free, refined sugar free)
Base
1/2 cup sprouted, dehydrated buckwheat
1/2 cup dates

Filling
2 white sapote
1 young coconut, meat only
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla paste

To make the base, grind both ingredients together in a food processor until it sticks together when pressed between finger and thumb. Press into the bottom of a springform pan.
For the filling, whizz all ingredients together in a blender and pour on top of base. Place in freezer until frozen. Can eat frozen, or thaw slightly for a creamier serve.

§ 7 Responses to Get Adventurous

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Get Adventurous at Made with Zana.

meta

